top of page

«Robin Hood»

«Robin Hood»

Our story begins in 1066. In that year the Normans came from France and defeated the Anglo-Saxons. The Normans then ruled England for the next three hundred years until slow­ly the Normans and Anglo-Saxons became one nation: the English.

There were lots of forests and wild animals in England at the time. These forests belonged to the Nor­mans. The Saxons were not allowed to the hunt in them or to kill any animals.

If the Saxons killed any of the King’s animals, the Normans hanged them or cut off a hand or an arm. Saxons had no rights and if they broke a law, the only hope for them was to leave their villages and hide in the forests where our story takes place.

¥

It is the twelfth century and Robin Hood is living in Sherwood Forest with his men. Not far away in the next town is their enemy, the Sher­iff of Nottingham.

Three brothers:

Will,

John and

Lester Stout

A beggar

The Sheriff’s servant

Speaker 1

Speaker 2

Speaker 3

Speaker 4

Characters:

Robin Hood

Maid Marian

Little John

Will Scarlet

Friar Tuck

Alan Adale[endif]--

stands up with a large card with these words: The Sheriffs castle in Nottingham.

SCENE 1 Sherwood Forest.

Listen. The Sheriff is in his castle in Not- tingham.

(Knocks and enters). Where’s the Sheriff?

Here. What do you want? Who are those men?

They’re Saxons. We caught them in the for­est. They’ve killed one of the King’s deer.

(angrily). What? Did I hear correctly? Killed one of the King’s deer?

We had to kill the deer. We had no food.

How often must I tell your people? The for­est and the animals in it belong to the King and only the King. Nobody is allowed to kill my animals. (To the guard.) Hang them.

Hang them!

It’s not fair. We must pay money to the King and money to the Church. We must work for you — Normans. We have no money to buy food or clothes. How can we live.

Take them away. (Shout as they leave.) You’ll be hung tomorrow! (Laughs.)[endif]--We were hungry. We had nothing to eat.

Hurry up! Hang them! We haven’t got much time.

But then the beggar threw off his beggar’s clothes. He took his horn and blew three times.

And everybody knew who the beggar was.

It’s Robin Hood! Catch him! Guards, sol­diers. Catch him! Quickly!

Robin cut the ropes that were round the men’s necks with his knife.

And together they ran into the crowd where more of Robin’s men were waiting.

Catch those men! They’re in the crowd. The town is full of Robin Hood’s men. Catch them all. I want them here. Catch them. Why are you standing there? (Shouts at guards and pushes them after Robin.)

But Robin and his men rode away.

Through the streets of Nottingham

But listen. One of the servants in the Sher­iff’s castle heard the story.

And he rode quickly to Sherwood Forest.

He rode through the tall dark trees until one of Robin Hood’s outlaws stopped him.

SCENE 2 Sherwood Forest.

A pupil stands up with a card: Sherwood Forest-

Where are you going?

I must find Robin Hood. It’s important. The Sheriff is going to hang three men tomorrow.

Come with me.

Maid Marian put a bag over the servant’s head and together they rode through the forest.

Until they came to Robin’s camp.

Do we know the family?

The Sheriff’s men killed their father last year. They are very poor, Robin.

Then we must help them. Maid Marian, send some food to the mother at once. Alan Adale, you were in Nottingham today. Did you hear anything? When were you there?

I heard that the Sheriff wants to hang some men in the market place.

(Thinking.) Aha! We haven’t got a plan.

SCENE 4 Sherwood Forest.

A pupil lifts up a card: Sherwood Forest.

The next morning Robin was on his way to Nottingham where the Sheriff wanted to hang the three brothers.

And there on the road he met a poor beggar.

Good morning, beggar. Where are you going?

To Nottingham, sir. But Fm only a poor beggar. I have no money and no jewels. Look, sir. Only empty pockets. Nothing in them. May I go past, please?

I like your clothes, beggar.

I need them.[endif]--My clothes? But they’re so old worn. Who needs them?

Oh, sir. If you take my clothes from me, then I’ll have nothing in this world. (Begins to groan.)

(Smiles) I’m going to give you good money for them. Four gold coins.

Four gold coins for these?.. I know who you are. You’re Robin Hood (Laughs jumps up and down.) Here, Robin. My shoes. Everything.

Wait. I don’t need everything. Pooh! And your shoes are smelly. But here you are. Four gold coins. And you can have these. (Gives him new clothes.)

For me? New clothes? Four gold coins and new clothes. I feel like a new man.

You are a npw man. And I am now the poor beggar. Let’s go to Nottingham quickly.

SCENES

Nottingham.

A pupil stands up with a card: The market place in Nottingham.

(to the crowd that is making noise). Quiet! You know the laws! These men must die. They’ve killed the King’s deer and that is

against the law. And it is also a law that a Saxon must hang a Saxon. Who will come here from the crowd and hang them? Well?

He looks around but nobody moves.

I’ll give forty gold coins to the man who hangs them.

(in the beggar’s clothes ). Fll hang them for that money.

Voices. Stay where you are! You can’t do that! We’re all Saxons here. We can’t hang them.

Forty gold coins for the man who hang them.

Holds up the money.

I’ll hang them. I’m not frightened of this crowd. Give me the money.

But are you a Saxon?

Of course I am. Now give me the money.

Here. Forty gold coins. (The crowd boils and jeers.) And now hang them.

(laughs at the crowd). What is a Saxon to me! (The crowd shouts back at him.) I’ll hang all of yon. And for less money.

Hurry up.

(to Sheriff). First I must hear their confes­sion.

What? They aren’t allowed to have confes­sions. Hang them, and quickly.

It is also the law! (Goes to the three broth­ers.) I must hear their confessions first.

And the beggar went to the three men.

He put his ear to their mouths, one after the other.

Not even the Sheriff[endif]--And he began to talk to them. But nobody" could hear what he said.

Well, if you’re going to join us, it’s time you met some of my outlaws. This is Little John, the biggest and strongest man in Sherwood. Here is Alan Adale. He’s a singer. He often plays mu­sic in the town, so he hears what is happening there. And of course we have got Friar Tuck, our favourite fat monk. He’s fat because he eats so well.[endif]--But I only eat the King’s deer, Robin. I nev­er take from the poor.

And then there’s Maid Marian, the most beautiful woman in Sherwood Forest.

I’m the only woman in Sherwood Forest.

But it helps if you’re also beautiful.

Marian, I’m hungry.

Cook your own food. I’m not your servant.

Marian, this is the twelfth century. Woman belongs to the kitchen.

Not in this play. I’m fighting for women’s rights.

(Holds up a card or on back of T-shirt: More rights for Sherwood9s women ).

(loudly). You’re seven hundred years too soon. (Goes towards her,)

Don’t touch me. You know you mustn’t hit a woman.

Be quiet, you two. You’re like cat and dog. I’m still hungry.

Then out of the town and into Sherwood Forest.

SCENE 6

Robin Hood’s Camp.

A pupil lifts up a card: Robin Hood's camp.

How can we thank you, Robin? You saved our lives today.

Yes, you saved our lives* But where can we live? We can’t go home now. The Sheriff ’s men will look for us there.

Then they must stay here. We need good men who will help us to fight the Sheriff.

And our poor mother?

Well send her food and money.

And you can always visit her. Brothers. Oh, Robin, thank you very much,

The curtain comes down. Or the actors can leave the scene and stand in front of the audience.

Well, eat this, (Throws him a shoe. Little John runs after her.)

Stop it. I’m the boss here. And this is what I say. We all cook!

Finish with song: «Robin Hood»

![endif]--![endif]--![endif]--![endif]--![endif]--![endif]--![endif]--![endif]--![endif]--


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Тегов пока нет.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page